Site Map Contact Us Become a Member
Mira Wilkins, sepia photo

Mira Wilkins Prize Recipients

This prize, established in 2009 in recognition of the path-breaking scholarship of Mira Wilkins, is awarded to the author of the best article published annually in Enterprise & Society pertaining to international and comparative business history. Formally known as "The Mira Wilkins Prize for the best article on international business history," it comprises an award of $250 and a memento presented at the Business History Conference annual meeting. The first Wilkins Prize was awarded at the 2010 meeting.

2014: Brenna Greer, Wellesley College

"Selling Liberia: Moss H. Kendrix, the Liberian Centennial Commission, and the Post-World War II Trade in Black Progress" (Vol. 14, June 2013)

2013: Tore C. Olsson, University of Georgia

"Peeling Back the Layers: Vidalia Onions and the Making of a Global Agribusiness" (Vol. 13, December 2012)

2012: Neil Rollings, University of Glasgow

"Multinational Enterprise and Government Controls on Outward Foreign Direct Investment in the United States and the United Kingdom in the 1960s" (Vol. 12, June 2011)

2011: Marcelo Bucheli, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

"Multinational Corporations, Business Groups, and Economic Nationalism: Standard Oil (New Jersey), Royal Dutch-Shell, and Energy Politics in Chile, 1913-2005" (Vol. 11, June 2010)

2010: Paul Duguid, University of California, Berkeley

"French Connections: The International Propagation of Trademarks in the Nineteenth Century" (Vol. 10, March 2009)