Business History Conference
Home     Site Map     Contact Us
Harold F. Williamson Prize Winners

The Williamson Prize in Business History was first presented in 1990, and is awarded every two years. It was established to honor the memory of one of the founding members of the Business History Conference; Hal Williamson taught at Northwestern University for many years, trained dozens of graduate students, and served as president of the BHC in 1974. The prize is awarded to an individual "at mid-career" who has made significant contributions to the teaching and writing of business history. The prize consists of a medallion and $500.
1990: Naomi Lamoreaux, University of California, Los Angeles

1992: David A. Hounshell, Carnegie Mellon University

1994: Geoffrey Jones, University of Reading

1996: William J. Hausman, College of William and Mary

1998: Steven Tolliday, University of Leeds, and JoAnne Yates, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2000: Kenneth Lipartito, Florida International University

2002: Richard R. John, University of Illinois at Chicago, and Angel Kwolek-Folland, University of Florida

2004: Steven Usselman, Georgia Institute of Technology

2006: Pamela Walker Laird, University of Colorado at Denver

2008: Regina Lee Blaszczyk, Independent Scholar, and Andrea Colli, Bocconi University

2010: Sally Clarke, University of Texas at Austin

2012: Mary O'Sullivan, University of Geneva

About the BHC


Annual Meetings


Grants and Prizes


Become a Member


The BHC is an affiliated organization of H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences Online.
Page created September 23, 2002; last updated, April 5, 2012.
Please report corrections or suggestions to the BHC Web Editor.
© 2012 by the Business History Conference.