Site Map Contact Us Become a Member


In the early years of the Business History Conference, Albert Steigerwalt served unofficially as a "chairman"—helping to coordinate meeting arrangements, sending out a biennial newsletter, and overseeing expenses. He was followed in the mid-1960s by Ross Robertson. When the BHC was put on a more formal footing in 1971, with bylaws and a governing structure, Fred Bateman became the first "official" Secretary-Treasurer. The current Secretary-Treasurer is Roger Horowitz, director the Center for Business, Technology, and Society at the Hagley Museum and Library.