CEBC Halloran Prize in the History of Corporate Responsibility

Harry R. Halloran, Jr. The prize will recognize a paper presented at the BHC annual meeting that makes a significant contribution to the history of corporate responsibility. Corporate responsibility is understood to embrace the many ways in which the firm relates to the political realm and the wider society. It is generously funded by the Center for Ethical Business Cultures (CEBC) at the University of St. Thomas Opus College of Business in honor of Harry R. Halloran, Jr., for his support of the university and research on the history of corporate responsibility in twentieth-century business. The prize, which consists of a $500 award and a certificate of recognition, is to be offered annually for a period of five years at the Business History Conference 2010-2014 annual meetings. Relevant topics might include, among others: business engagement with and action on social issues, environmental issues, labor-management relations, business giving, influence of religion on business practice, business influence on government policy, organizational development and strategy related to this topic, etc. The competition is open to papers written in English and dealing with the topic during the twentieth century up to the present time.

The prize committee consists of three members: two appointed by the Business History Conference for staggered two-year terms and one by the Center for Ethical Business Cultures at the University of St. Thomas, who will chair the committee and preside over the evaluation process. Potential awardees will be asked to designate themselves for consideration at the time they submit their proposals for the annual meeting. The committee may also invite submissions from among other papers accepted for the annual meeting. To be considered, an author must submit the paper to the committee chair no later than two weeks prior to the annual meeting. The committee or its delegates will evaluate the papers and make a decision that will be announced by the committee chair at the awards banquet.


2015: Owen James Hyman, Mississippi State University 

  • "Why a West Coast Paper Company Went South: Corporate Expansion and Civil Rights in the Deep South"


2014: Stephanie Decker, Aston Business School

  • "The Impact of Colonial Development Debates on the HR Policies of Imperial Business in Ghana and Nigeria, 1940-1960"


2013: Stephanie Amerian, Irvine Valley College

  • " 'A store is a citizen': Civic Culture and Consumer Culture at Lord & Taylor Department Store, 1945-1959"


2012: Jennifer Armiger, SUNY-Albany

  • " 'What Was Good Enough in the 1960s Is Not Good Enough Today': Sex, Race, and Business Opposition to Equal Opportunity Policy in 1970s America"


2011: Ann-Kristin Bergquist, Umeå University, and Kristina Söderholm, Luleå University of Technology

  • "The Making of a Green Innovation System: The Swedish Institute for Water and Air Protection and the Swedish Pulp and Paper Industry from the Mid-1960s to the 1980s"


2010: Rob Goldberg, University of Pennsylvania

  • "Black Power in the Dollhouse: Shindana Toys and the Business of Social Change"